Today I am having another local Brew. The Titletown Brewing Happy Feeling spiced coffee Porter. Sounds like a lot going on there.

I get the porter in the big mug. It arrives with a nice foamy tan head. Large bubbles?… Could be over carbonated? Could be a hard pour

The first aroma get is…celery? Yep celery leaves. But that quickly turns into coffee. Only way to describe it because i get no other roast, or sweet or hops. Maybe some grainy after it warms a bit.

Almost black but not quite. It’s got that Porter look of dark brown and clear as a bell.

Well I am happy it don’t taste like it smells. The taste skips over the celery and hits a coffee note. Subdued. But there. The roast again.. subtle. But just a bit more than the coffee.

As I was thinking “why there is no spice in this spiced beer.” The faintest bit of nutmeg hits me. You can feel the spice on the tongue more than taste it, but it fits I guess with all the other low impact things going on.

No hops in taste or aromas. Which is good for this particular beer or they would have completely covered everything else.

Carbonation doesn’t feel high as the head made it look like. But I like where it is because it covers the heavier body just a bit.

The more it warms the more that celery starts to poke out in the taste. Not that its a bad to thing here. And really, I’ve come to expect it in the few coffee stouts and porters I drink.

I am gonna go ahead and give this a solid 3.75 because it’s not something I would have normally ordered but glad I did.

Titletown’s Happy Feeling spiced coffee Porter