A buddy of mine made this beer. It is what he calling a Vietnamese stout. Something to do with the spices. But let’s not ahead of ourselves.. let drink this.

From the keg to pint glass it pours very definitely black. No light escapes this one. I can’t even make any highlights.
Nice sticky looking light tan head, but too dark to see the clarity. It is a beautiful looking beer.

Just from the pour I can already smell cinnamon and ginger.
After a few swirls I get a very good roast profile. Slightly burnt, and a bit of chocolate for sure. And yea,, those spices are there, cinnamon ginger,, is that clove? And they ride just under the roasty profile and not take everything over. Ohh this is looking good.

Not able to wait any longer, that first sip was exactly what I was waiting for.
The roasted barley come through first along with a chocolate side. Slightly burnt roast. Then the spices kick in.
Cinnamon and ginger, maybe a nutmeg. But again they all are perfectly layered just beneath that roast.

Not sweet per se, but it manages to have enough maltiness to detect even with everything else going on.
Nothing much for hops or yeast, but I’m focused on the roast.

I wouldn’t say it’s aggressively hopped but it does let you know its there.
And it’s not what I’d call a full body, but it is far from thin.
And that finish.. it’s a dry finish that just makes you want to keep taking sips.

I’m not sure I have had a more perfectly balanced stout that covered roast, feel, bitterness level, and aftertaste so perfectly.. then layered these spices in between all that.

I have had spice beers before. And I do like spiced beers. I have even had a few spiced stouts before. But I have never had one that pairs everything together as well as this one does.

This is with our a doubt one of my ultimate, favorite stouts, favorite beers for that matter, that I have ever had.

Thanks Jim, this is a fantastic… Fantastic beer. Take your 5/5!