I have walked past this next beer quite a few times at Aldi’s, but today is the day. Maguire’s Draught Stout.

I am guessing this is supposed to be a Guinness clone. But we will see. I dont think I ever had a Guinness clone that was even close. Some are good beers for sure,, just not a clone.

Pour is very black, with a decent cascade. Not much for highlights but there is some color around the edge of glass. Cannot determine the clarity it is so dark, but am assuming it is clear.
Impressive thick tan head. Which stays almost the entire drink.

First up is the roasted barley in aroma with light chocolate right behind that. Slightly grainy, but no sweetness. No hop or yeast detectable. Fairly straightforward Irish stout-like so far.

Taste is light roast and light chocolate. Also in the background is a biscuity note that kinda pulls everything together. Tastes are there, but very much muted, and nothing “fruity” here from either grain or yeast. But starting to get a bit of the earthy hop profile.

Thinner dryer body with a surprising bitterness. A slightly higher carbonation than what you might expect.. and that works with this beer.

The entire beer is like a lite version of a stout.. but I like this… Alot. It’s does have everything in it that I like,, and is a much more poundable version due to it’s lighter body and 4.2%.

Is this a stout? Sure. It’s no Guinness though. I rather like this one, but it being nearly the same price as Guinness, it may not get many repeat buys from the crowd.

4/5 is my score today.