yin

The second Imperial Stout of the Craft Beer Week was Yin by EvilTwin. I have heard very little about this one.

Again this one came in a short snifter. Looks like a stout. Black yes, but somehow not like a “deep” black. I’m not even sure what that means, but thats what I see.

Before I can even reach out for it, I get a very strong waft of grape kool-aide. Not grapes, or grape juice. Grape Kool-aide. Anyone who knows me, know I have a very strong aversion to grape Kool-aide.

While my natural reaction was to immediately dump this beer on the floor and burn the place down,,  I forced myself to go ahead and drink it.

There are a whole lotta things you can taste all at once. Grape Kool-aide, cotton candy, wet grain, alcohol. Everything except roast or hops. I think if you closed your eyes and someone gave you this to try, you would say its a brown ale or some kind of amber.

Does seem quite boozy,, but seems like it should come with an umbrella in it. I can see why some people would like this, but it is not for me, and I’m not even sure I would call this a stout.

3/5 because I’m generous.